Maalim will be replaced by Alex Ole Nkoyo from Makueni, states Interior PS Karanja Kibicho’s September 8 letter to regional commissioners.

He was moved to the Lakeside city from Mombasa last year and replaced by Evans Achoki.

Reached for comment by phone on Tuesday, Maalim said he learned of the changes through the media.

“It is good to comment on the matter after getting official communication.”

The commissioner played a key role in restoring sanity and unity in Kisumu’s security team, a move which boosted security.

Maalim also took firm action against cattle rustling in Nyakach and Muhoroni sub-counties.

But he came under sharp criticism by Governor Anyang’ Nyong’o and Senator Fred Outa over alleged police brutality during demonstrations that followed the August 8 general election.Protests erupted after NASA candidate Raila Odinga opposed IEBC’s declaration of President Uhuru Kenyatta as winner.

Kibicho announced other transfers and directed that the officers report to their new stations by September 15.

“The transfer of the listed county commissioners has been agreed upon for immediate implementation.”

Joseph Keter (Kilifi), Pauline Dola (Vihiga) and Samuel Njora (Kisii) have been moved to the Office of the President headquarters in Nairobi.

Magu Mutindika (Marsabit) and Karuko Ngumo (Nyeri) have been transferred to Kilifi and Kwale counties respectively.

Fredrick Shisia (Mandera) and Kutswa Olaka (Kwale) will take over in Nyeri and Mandera counties respectively while Nairobi county commissioner Godfrey Kigochi has been transferred to Kisii county.